Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu thanks Bagbin for the years of cooperation after briefing the house on his exit as Majority Leader

Spread the love

Suame lawmaker Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has thanked Speaker Alban Bagbin for the years of cooperation and friendship that existed between the two of them.

He noted that although the two of them had disagreements occasionally, they both enjoyed the cooperation.

He said this after briefing the Speaker on the changes made to the leadership of the Majority Caucus in Parliament on Friday, February 23.

He said on the floor of the House that his resignation as Majority Leader was voluntary.

He thanked the Speaker Alban Bagbin for the cooperation that has existed between them over the years.

“Thank you for the cooperation and collaboration that existed between you and me over the entire period that our paths crossed,” he said among other things.

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has been kept as the Minister for Parliamentary Affairs despite his resignation as Majority Leader.

This was after the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) confirmed the MP for Efutu, Alexander Afenyo-Markin as his replacement as Majority Leader.

The Suame lawmaker resigned on February 21 during a meeting between the Majority Caucus and President Akufo-Addo.

The NPP NEC held an emergency meeting in Accra on Friday, February 23 to announce the changes made to the leadership of the Majority. At that meeting, the NEC decided to keep Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu as Minister for Parliamentary Affairs.

Other members of the newly constituted Majority Caucus are:

  1. Patricia Appiagyei (MP for Asokwa)  – Deputy Majority Leader
  2. Frank Annor Dompreh (MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri) – Majority Whip
  3. Habib Iddrisu (MP for Tolon)- 1st Dep. Majority Whip
  4. Alex Tetteh Djonobuah (MP for Sefwi Akontombra) – 2nd Dep. Majority Whip



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.