Dome-Kwabenya ‘TikTok Star’, Successor crushed out of Parliament in 2025

Spread the love

Former Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection and Member of Parliament for Dome-Kwabenya, Sarah Adwo Safo, and her successor at the Ministry, Hajia Lariba Abudu will not be part of the 9th Parliament in 2025 as they have both lost in their bid as parliamentary candidates for the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Sarah Adwoa Safo who in the last couple of years has been embroiled in a series of controversies including her infamous TikTok issue, was first elected as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Dome Kwabenya in 2012 in the Greater Accra Region but was humbled by Mike Oquaye Jnr, Chief Executive Officer(CEO) of the Free Zones Authority at the primaries on January 27, 2024.

She polled 328 votes against the victor who polled 1,194 votes in one of the populous constituencies in the country with a voter population of over a hundred thousand.

Mike Oquaye Jnr’s victory has generated discussions within political circles, with observers noting the significance of this development. In the last parliamentary election, he lost to Adwoa Safo by eight votes.

Hajia Lariba Abudu who succeeded Sarah Adwoa Safo at the Ministry, has also become a one-term MP after she failed to annex the slot in the Walewale Constituency in the North East Region.

Technical Advisor in the office of the Vice President, Dr. K.B Mahama polled 343 to beat the incumbent who closed the gap with 334 votes.

Tahiru Shaman (Veron) had 145 votes while Mahama Jangdow had a single vote.

Dr K.B Mahama has since been declared the winner by the Electoral Commission as the Parliamentary Candidate Elect of the NPP in the home constituency of Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.